Annual Meeting



It was a great day to drive-through

New-Mac Electric’s Special Meeting draws approximately 600 vehicles 

It was a first for New-Mac Electric.

For the sake of COVID-19 mitigation, the co-op elected to replace its 2020 Annual Meeting and instead hold a “special meeting.” New-Mac has had a special meeting before, like the one held July 23, 1946, when 600 members were transferred to help start Barry Electric Cooperative. However, New-Mac Electric’s 2020 Special Meeting was unique because it was the first-ever “drive-through” meeting.

On Oct. 31, more than 1,300 people attended New-Mac’s event, but they maintained social distancing by never leaving the approximately 600 vehicles that brought them to the Crowder College parking lots in Neosho.

New-Mac saw a steady stream of traffic come through the Saturday morning meeting. Those who registered at the event received a $20 electric credit to their main membership account and were put in a drawing for five $250 and ten $100 electric credits. Winners were notified by phone on Nov. 2.

Participants also had the opportunity to vote for three seats on the co-op’s Board of Directors. Winning three-year terms on the nine-member board were incumbents Martin Youngblood (District 1) and Paul Sprenkle (District 6). Linda Poor was elected to District 3, replacing Bob Fields, who had served since 2002 and decided not to seek re-election. Poor is the widow of former longtime New-Mac Board President Richard “Mickey” Poor, who served 25 years as a Director.

Another change in 2020, due to circumstances, was the mailing out of capital credit checks prior to the October meeting. Traditionally, New-Mac hands out capital credit checks at its annual meeting. In 2020, over $1.1 million in capital-credit checks were returned to those who were members of New-Mac Electric in 1999. This marks the 23rd year in a row that New-Mac has retired capital credits to members, totaling over $24 million.

New-Mac Electric, headquartered in Neosho, Mo., serves over 18,000 member accounts primarily in Newton, McDonald and Jasper Counties.